Latest additions and reviews

9 April 2018

Follow-up on my recent chance discovery of Piers Hellawell (see my blog post from March 29): received, heard and reviewed Piers Hellawell: Inside Story for violin, viola and orchestraThe Still Dancers for string quartetQuadruple Elegy (in the time of freedom) for violin and chamber orchestra. Metronome Recordings MET CD 1059 (2002) and found that it entirely lived up to its promise. “The music of Hellawell is much of what I wish for when I listen to contemporary music: its language is advanced and demanding enough – no neo-romantic, clowingly sentimental film-music like gestures here, a genre in which many prominent composers seem to revel these days – but not intractably “avant-garde” either (vade retro, Ferneyhough and Wuorinen!); busy orchestrally, very colorful and atmospheric, loud at times and dramatic, dynamic and propulsive in the outer movements in a manner – oh very vaguely – reminiscent of Walton’s First Symphony. But also extremely lyrical – again, not the sentimental and mawkish lyricism of the reactionary neo-romantics, not a lyricism that whines, a passionate lyricism that scorches”. Although Hellawell occasionally uses some “advanced” performance techniques and modes of sound production,  there’s nothing that strikes me as truly “ground-breaking” in his music, but he seems to me to offer a superb synthesis of “the old and the new”.

8 April 2018

Long time no new entry on Discophage.com. But I did listen to Walter Fähndrich’s “Viola” on ECM and loved it – a chance discovery. Fähndrich is a Swiss viola player and composer, born in 1944, active more in sound installations in galleries and other spaces than in the traditional modes of commission, production and performance of contemporary music. Viola is a fascinating sonic exploration of the instrument, as original and important as Salvatore Sciarrino’s Six Capricci for the solo violin. Fähndrich is very little represented on CD, and I’ve immediately ordered his  Räume / Spaces, on Unit Records, barcode 7619942412425.

29 March 2018 – Is music “research”?

Searching the music of Hellawell and going from one video to the other on YouTube, I chanced on the one of Hellawell discussing the topic “can music be considered as ‘research’“. Turns out Academic composers in the UK (e.g. composers working in Academia, usually as composition teachers) are now requested by the UK bureaucracy to present their compositional projects as “research”, because an Academic is supposed to do research. Only – and I find that Hellawell cogently argues his point – if some composers and compositions can be considered as “research”, most can’t, because the act and process of music composition – and “art” in general – isn’t scientific research. He scores a strong point when (at 4:05) he argues that, based on the research criterion, Wagenseil would have been granted funding by the UK academic bureaucracy, but “J.S. Bachrrrrr” would have pitifully failed….

Researching some more, it turns out that this issue of composition as research is a hot topic these days in the UK. John Croft, a composition teacher at Brunel University, published a paper that apparently made some waves (link will open new tab to .pdf document), in which he strongly argues against the notion that composition can be equated to research, and chafes that academic composers seeking funding are forced to lie about what their compositional projects are actually about and to make up things for the bureaucracy. The problem with that, he adds, is that the ability to lie and make up things that will fool the bureaucracy is not necessarily a skill that goes hand and hand with compositional excellence.

And this in turn seems to have spurred a large discussion, to which pianist Ian Pace also contributed with a more moderate and compromising view than Croft’s (and more leads to the controversy – not always courteous – here).

I do find that at times Croft stretches the argument, as when he asks voluntarily silly research questions designed to make the answers absurd:

Imagine, if you will, a research funding application from Schoenberg. Research question: ‘can I make music in which all pitch classes are played equally often?’. Answer: yes! Or one from Grisey: ‘can I make chords out of the pitches revealed by spectral analysis?’ Answer: yes! Can I write a piece by sonifying the human genome? Actually, yes! If the answer to your ‘research question’ is always (trivially) ‘yes’, then there’s no research going on

(incidentally, Hellawell uses the same kind of argument, with his Wagenseil vs Bach quip)

But, sure, it seems to me that Schoenberg, Boulez, Xenakis, Grisey’s compositional endeavors CAN be framed in “research” questions. Schoenberg: “can I invent a coherent compositional system which does away with tonality?”. Ultimately the answer was yes, but contrary to what Croft says, the outcome wasn’t given and Schoenberg had to toil and sweat and research before coming up with “the system”. Boulez: “can I invent a coherent compositional system that organizes ALL the parameters of music – not just pitch, but rhythm, timbre, dynamics – in a rational way that does away with all the accepted ‘traditions’”? (about this, see my review of Structures). And ultimately he did, but there was lots of research, trial and error involved, and in a way “Structures II” is a “refutation” (as much as a confirmation) of “Structures I”, and the later-Boulez is a “refutation” of the early Boulez of “sérialisme intégral”. Xenakis: “can I invent a coherent compositional system that does away with Boulez’ serialism and is based on stochastic functions?”. And ultimately he did, but it involved research and the solutions weren’t given. Grisey: “can I invent a coherent compositional system based on OTHER parameters than tonality or Boulez’ serialism?”. And ultimately he did, basing it on “the pitches revealed by spectral analysis”. But he didn’t just wake up one morning and came up with it. It was a long process of trial and error. Etc.

I don’t quite agree with this either:

the most original music, whatever its debt to the past, has a kind of waywardness or intransigence that has more to do rejecting unwanted influences, or hermetically pursuing something that nobody else is interested in. In this is it the opposite of research – in general, a researcher cannot simply decide to ignore swathes of previous research because it suits her to do so, or cultivate a deliberate obliviousness to the scholarly context in which she works. But for a composer, this might be just the right thing to do.

I mean, Copernicus and Galileo are steeped in Ptolemanic astronomy and Aristotelician physics, they’ve been taught them, they know them upside down – know their flaws too, but flaws don’t mean they are false, and most in their days conclude that their flaws mean only that they need to be perfected. But unlike most, Copernicus and Galileo decide to reject them and invent completely new astrononmy and physics. How is Schoenberg different? He is deeply steeped in the late-romanticism of Wagner and Mahler, he’s been taught it, he knows it inside out, he’s composed in that style – but he’s aware of the flaws, and decides to reject the system and invent a totally new one.  It’s exactly the same intransigence, the same rejection of “unwanted influences”,  the “hermetical pursuit of something that nobody else is interested in.”

But that doesn’t invalidate the point Croft is making. Hellawell is probably slightly more accurate in that he contends that, sure, SOME composers and compositions do respond to the “research” criterion – but not all, and most composers and compositions do not. And despite his argumentative tricks, Croft’s point remains unassailable: composition is NOT academic research and cannot bow to the criteria of academic research, and fuck off you damn ignorant bureaucrats!

This is excellent :

There is a fundamental distinction at work here: research describes the world; composition adds something to the world. Research, at least of the scientific kind to which musical composition is generally assimilated, aims to produce generalisable results; the significance of a piece of music lies, on the contrary, in its particularity. This is not to say that music has no cognitive dimension, or that it does not have a kind of truth – only that it does not have the kind of truth that is discovered by research. (…) Notwithstanding various efforts to dissolve such distinctions, it remains the case that, if Einstein had not existed, someone else would have come up with Relativity. If Beethoven had not existed, nobody would have written the Ninth Symphony. (…) There is a reason we prefer Darwin to Lamarck, and it isn’t one of style. Einstein corrects and supersedes Newton; Schoenberg does not correct and supersede Bach. One can understand Gauss’s flux theorem perfectly well never having read a word of Gauss; one cannot understand Debussy’s music without ever hearing a note of it. A good theory can be poorly articulated, but there is no such thing as good music badly composed.”

Ultimately, either all the academic composers of the world unite! and start pressuring the bureaucrats to devise criteria specific to music and arts that are NOT those of scientific research, OR, as in the Soviet Union, everybody can go on making a public display of belief and adhesion, while everybody (including the bureaucrats) knows it is pure crap. As long as it satisfies not even the bureaucrats, but the norms that the bureaucrats are tasked with enforcing… Croft complains that the skills needed to please the bureaucrats (mastering the art of faking) are not necessarily the ones needed to make a good composer. Sure, but we know that there are many skills involved in being a “succesful” (e.g. commissioned) composer, many of which have little to do with “good” compositions. We see so many performed composers that seem to be better PR’s than original and interesting composers, don’t we?

And after all, given a compositional system in which you decide to work – whether you’ve borrowed it from a given “tradition”, like tonality or serialism or spectralism – or you’ve invented it from scratch (like Schoenberg or Boulez or Grisey), every new work can be argued to be a new application of that system, and in that sense, a work of research. Not all scientific research is a paradigmatic breakthrough (Copernicus, Galileo, Newton, Einstein), most is an application of such paradigmatic breakthroughs. “Given Newton’s three laws of gravity, can I spot where Uranus will be in the sky in two years from now”? Likewise, “given the spectral rules of composition, can I combine my materials in such a way that will produce a new, original and valuable work for flute, clarinet and viola, which is indeed what I’m inspired to compose right now?”. Well, if that’s good enough research for me, then it should satisfy the bureaucrats.

I’m not in a position to make any definitive pronouncement on the issue. Obviously, some academics don’t agree with the notion that composition can’t be assimilated to research, and it’s a heated debate. But I’m not sure it is relevant to try and solve the issue “ontologically”, e.g. questioning the very “essence” of composition. Just as birds chirp and don’t necessarily reflect on the act and process of chirping, composers compose, and bureaucrats – not necessarily well-versed in the processes of music – need “objective” criteria. Also, academics are expected to do research, that, in turn, is part of the very essence of the job. A composer doesn’t absolutely have to chose academia (after all, Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms, Wagner, etc, etc, didn’t, and anyway academia wasn’t organized as it is now), but if he does, the collateral damage is that he has to submit to the rules of academia. So maybe the presentation of a composition project will be all fake and designed only to satisfy the demands of the bureaucrats, but it doesn’t seem so difficult to present a composition, any composition, as “research” . Doesn’t a composer “research” to organize his materials according to a certain system and unfolding logic in order to attain a result that has an impact on an audience?

29 March 2018 – Piers Hellawell – George Crumb

Long time no addition to discophage.com. Among the reasons is that I’m spending a lot of time these days playing the piano (very badly alas!) – so, no time to listen. Another reason is that I spend too much time buying CDs and sorting out what I buy and receive, and it leaves little time for actual listening and reviewing – a self-defeating proposition, really! I’ve listened to a few nice things these last few days – Cecilia Bartoli’s recording of arias of Steffani, magnificent, Anton Eberl’s Piano Concerto on Koch, something like a missing link between Beethoven’s first two piano concertos and his mature 3rd to 5th – but I need to take time to write down the damn reviews.

So I’m posting this just to say that I missed a bid today on eBay – music of Piers Hellawell. I had no idea who that was and what the music sounded like, so I went to Amazon to listen to samples, and from there to You Tube (there’s a fine selection of his works). It’s great, very original and evocative, both demanding (no neo-reactionary romantic pandering to the lowest common denominator here) AND very accessible, at times extremely lyrical. I immediately bought two CDs on Amazon. Excellent string quartet here (link will open new tab on YouTube), with some reminiscence of the dance music of Kevin Volans, and this one too.  His Piano Quartet, and an orchestral piece. Born in 1956, Hellawell is Professor of Composition at the Queen’s University of Belfast, but he doesn’t get an entry on Wikipedia, and I don’t even know if he’s of Irish origin.

Other news and addition to my collection: I’ve recently made a HUGE purchase of second-hand scores online – 172! I hadn’t visited my online dealer’s catalog for over a year – I’ve had other things on my mind since the election of Trump and the ongoing destruction of everything that ever made America great. Well, I received notification of his new catalog and decided to pay a visit. I coulnd’t resist, it was like an Ali-Baba cavern – especially since, for some reason, this English dealer was selling lots of scores of George Crumb. How did he get hold of them, I don’t know (I’d be curious to know, though…) but I took advantage. I’ve added many of Crumb’s song cycles to my collection – the hauntingly beautiful Apparition, the seven volumes of his American Songbook, vol. I of Spanish Songbook, Mundus Canis for guitar & percussion, Four Nocturnes (Night Music II) for Violin & Piano, Dream Sequence (Images II) for violin, cello, piano, percussion, glass harmonica, Eleven Echoes of Autumn for violin, alto flute, clarinet & piano, Quest for guitar, soprano saxophone, harp, contrabass & percussion, Lux Aeterna for Five masked musicians, Eleven Echoes of Autumn for violin, alto flute, clarinet & piano and A Haunted Landscape for orchestra. And it’s not just the music: Crumb’s scores are works of art, they are calligraphy, they deserve to be framed and hung to the wall.

the CD – not, it’s not a stamp! – is to give a comparative notion of the score’s humongous size

 

Crumb is one of my top favorite 20/21st century composers (others would be Ligeti, Lutoslawski, Xenakis, Dutilleux, Ohana…), music of such invention and evocative power as to be breathtaking. I’m still missing a few scores of Crumb that I’d love to have, of his extraordinary Black Angels for electrified string quartet, Ancient Voices of Children, his Makrokosmos cycle for piano(s) and percussion…

Among my big lot of new scores: Szymanowski’s Piano Sonatas Nos. 2 op 21 and 3 op. 36, Métopes op. 29, Masques op. 34, Dutilleux’ String Quartet (“Ainsi la Nuit”) and The Shadows of Time, Messiaen’s Et Expecto Resurrectionem Mortuorum, Alberto Ginastera’s String Quartets Nos. 2 & 3, First Piano Concerto and Harp Concerto, Silvestre Revueltas’ String Quartets 1-3, Egon Wellesz’ Quartets 1-4, Orff’s Antigonae, Ligeti’s Double Concerto and Violin Concerto, lots of Maxwell Davies (I already had a lot) and I almost completed my Panufnik collection too (I think I’m missing only his 9th Symphony now…). And with the addition of Stravinsky’s  Danses concertantes, Four Norwegian Moods and The Flood, I’m now pretty close to having just about everything I wish to have of Stravinsky (which is nearly everything of Stravinsky). For Bartòk I’m not far by am still missing The Wooden Prince.

I intend to publish here the complete list of my scores. It’s big and I love it.

18 March 2018

Not much activity these days on Discophage.com, busy on other activities, but fortunately, time enough for a great discovery, Josep Mir i Llusà: Missa in D Major, Stabat Mater, Quomodo Obscuratum Est, Lauda Jerusalem on Musièpoca MEPCD-004 (2011). one among thousands of now completely forgotten composers from the baroque and classical era, the Catalan-born Mir i Llussà (c. 1700 – 1764) appears to have been highly regarded in his lifetime and country, but despite Scarlatti and Soler, Spain was too far from the major cultural centers of Europe for Mir i Llussà’s to gain a widespread recognition and publications that would have ensured his survival in the eyes of posterity. Yet his choral works featured on that CD don’t sound to my ears immensely inferior to, nor stylistically more backward-looking than the great masterpieces of Gossec, Haydn and Mozart.

16 February 2018 – the Amazon nightmare continues

The nightmare continues.

Makes me wonder if it is just abysmal incompetence from Amazon staff, or if they make bets among themselves, pick a customer at random who sent any kind of request and test how much they’ll be able to piss him off.

So, early afternoon, I get a response from Amazon communities:

Sent: Friday, February 16, 2018 12:40 PM
Subject: A message from Communities

Hello,

This is Mervin from the Communities Team. I hope this e-mail finds you well.

We can no longer accept Amazon non-verified purchase reviews for these ASIN’s, because we detected unusual review behavior on these producst and therefore are allowing only Verified Purchase reviews of these products at this time. An Amazon Verified Purchase means that the person writing the review purchased the product at Amazon and did not receive the product at a deep discount. There is no limit on Amazon Verified Purchase reviews.

You may try to submit your review again when we have removed restrictions on submitting unverified reviews.

I hope this helps.

We’d appreciate your feedback. Please use the buttons below to vote about your experience today.
Best regards,
Mervin V.

 

WTF?????…. Now, how is that response related in any way to the problem I submitted to them? My problem is NOT that this or that review didn’t get posted, or was deleted, because I didn’t buy the CD from Amazon… Anyway, the classical music CDs that I review are conspicuously NOT products on which “unusual review behavior” would be detected – unless, of course, you consider that ALL my reviews are “unusual” by Amazon standards, which certainly would be true! But unusual review behavior refers to, say, political books that attract lots of reviews, both positive AND negative, because they are being campaigned around… or commercial products that a manufacturer is trying to promote underhand, or a competitor is trying to denigrate. I WISH that CDs of Honegger had sufficient following to attract that kind of attention!

Anyway, my reviews that are not appearing on My Profile are STILL posted under their respective product page, and they have been there for 3 to 9 years! My problem is not that they were deleted or not posted, it’s that all those between May 2009 and 15 August 2016 do not show up any more on My Profile, dammit! And I was very clear in my explanations, do you not even read the requests that are sent to you and serve any generic response that you have in your bag, just to be able to brush the request under the carpet ? (answer is probably “yes” – Earth’s most customer-centric company my ass!)

I mean, this response is so egregious that I really, seriously, don’t rule out that this response was sent to me in error.

Or, they just try to exhaust and discourage you, hoping that the flies will finally go away.

Well: persist, against all odds, and move the boulder, again and again, up that hill.

So I wrote back (what does that make it? Fourth time? Plus the chat…?).

And, surprise surprise, got a very quick response:

Hello,

This is Liam from the Communities Team; I trust this finds you well.

I’ve contacted our technical support team and they are currently working on the issue with your reviews not displaying on your profile page.

They were not able to provide an exact date or time when they expect this issue to be resolved, but I’ll continue to monitor the situation with the technical support team until the problem is fixed. We appreciate your patience in this matter.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

We’d appreciate your feedback. Please use the buttons below to vote about your experience today.

Best regards,
Liam A.

Well, Liam, best regards to you to. It seems so simple when you have someone who appears to actually read your request… Forgive me however if I abstain for the time being from giving a positive response to your inquiry about service quality. I’ll wait and see how my problem is solved. Oh I can wait: you may indeed “appreciate my patience”, because Amazon is taxing it real hard, and I don’t have so much of it in fact, but I substitute dogged determination, and persistence.
This is the kind of thing that has me running away now from Amazon.
*****************************
And with all that, I resposted my review of Honegger’s Symphonies Nos. 3 & 1 by Dennis Russell Davies and the Basel Symphony Orchestra (2012) – very mediocre versions, I’m afraid, for reasons developed in the review.

16 February 2018

Morning. Another non-response from the Amazon asses: “I have checked your profile and I can confirm that all your reviews in you profile are all active

Not on my screen, and no more today than the days before.  Are you accessing My Profile through your private in-house network, or are you going through the public internet as the rest of us users do?

So, e-mails won’t do. Can’t call them, because they accept calls from the US and associated territories only. So I chatted, and at least I was able to send a screen caption of what shows up on my screen. Said they “forwarded your images to the concern team they will contact you back in 24hrs via email please do not worry“. Sure I worry, I worry like hell, knowing the efficiency and responsiveness of the Behemoth which Amazon has become. But we’ll see. The battle continues. Don’t give up hope. (to be fair, the chat agent gave me an e-mail address where to send my photo caption and that went very smoothly).

And with all that, yesterday evening, I pulled out my scores of Honegger’s symphonic works from the shelves, and started listening again to Symphony No. 1. Listened to the first movements of Tabachnik, Baudo, Plasson and Rozhdestvensky. Need to hone my ears back in discriminating shape, because I found them all excellent (which I did in my original reviews, but you’d like to be able to make the finest distinctions). I was even more impressed by Rozhdestvensky that my review from 5 years ago reflects. I called is movement somewhat lacking “bite and fury” because of his very deliberate tempo, but I don’t find so. Lacking fury, maybe, but certainly not bite, and even less massive power, because the sonics are so stupendous and the orchestral presence so awesome. Five years ago I was already a bit embarrassed to find a word to characterize it: not “pastoral”, but “more playful”. Well, not pastoral, that’s for sure, it is so NOT pastoral that I deleted that sentence entirely. I kept the “more playful”, but it’s for want of a better characterization, and added a mention about the massive power, because that’s what strikes me now.

15 February 2018

No new from Amazon this morning. I’d better write back.

I created the entry for Munch’s Honegger Second Symphony with Orchestre de Paris, one of his last recordings, from December 1967. Didn’t actually leave a review – I saw that my notes were too sketchy, and I need to listen again, but the review is really scattered all over the other ones, each time I make a comparative reference to Munch. Nonetheless, it was a huge amount of work, locating and listing and finding suitable cover images for all the different editions including those from Japan. In the process I found a great resource for online photos of Japanese editions, which sent me back for additions to my reviews of Munch’s other Honegger recordings and Karajan’s.

14 February 2018

Morning

Sent: Wednesday, February 14, 2018 7:47 AM
Subject: A message from Communities

Hello Discophage,

Thank you for writing in.

I have reviewed your profile and found active reviews appearing between April 2009 and August 2016. Here is a link to your Profile:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/profile/amzn1.account.AGAFM74L2RIJ5O36NNYH4Z5ISQNQ

We’d appreciate your feedback. Please use the buttons below to vote about your experience today.

Best regards,

Zelda.

Amazon.com

 

Now, of course, I click on the link, which takes me to My Profile, and I see ABSOLUTELY NO CHANGE from yesterday, eg all my reviews between April 29 2009 and August 18 2016 DO NOT show up on My Profile:

 

Inept, incompetent Amazon asses. I wrote back.

 

***************************************************

And the Amazon nightmare continues. Minutes later (hey, that was quick!), I receive an answer:

Sent: Wednesday, February 14, 2018 11:15 AM
Subject: RE:[CASE 4875863951] Issues with a website feature

Dear Seller,

Greetings from Amazon Seller Support,

Unfortunately, I was not able to find a selling account (reichenbachedouard@gmail.com) connected to the email address you sent your message from.

For account confidentiality reasons, we do not release account information to email addresses other than the one associated with your Amazon.com selling account.

Please re-send your message using the email address associated with your selling account.

If you no longer use that email, please update the email address on file for your account.

As a security precaution, we ask sellers to change their email addresses directly on our website. This ensures that the user requesting the change knows the current login credentials for the existing seller account. This prevents any unwelcomed changes.

To change your email address:

1. Log in to Seller Central
2. In the **Settings** section, select **Login Settings**
3. On the **Login Settings** page, in the **Password Settings** section, click **Change**.
4. On the **Password Settings** page, enter both your **Old password** and your **New password**
5. Click **Submit**

Thank you for your understanding of our account security precautions.

I hope that the above information helps you. However, If you need any further assistance, feel free and get back to us and be assured that we will be more than happy to assist you again.

Have a lovely day ahead!

Please let us know how we did.

Were you satisfied with the support provided?

 

Resounding NO. The support provided was TERRIBLE! In fact, I see that it’s partly my fault – sort of. I’ve already been subjected to this kind of shit by Amazon – many times. Some time ago, in another one of their customary moves to the worse, they changed the way Help requests were directed to them, and if you picked just about anything other than “Customer reviews” or “Customer discussions”, the requests went to Seller support rather than Customer support. And from there, they’d always send you the generic response, “we can’t find a seller account associated to this e-mail adress”. OF COURSE YOU ASSES, since I’m sending the request NOT in my quality of seller, but as a CUS-TO-MER.

And now things are even worse, because in yet another, and recent, change to even worse, they’ve suppressed all links to “Customer reviews” and/or “Customer discussions” (and of course, they have suppressed the Customer discussion boards altogether). So now, when I try to contact them for problems with Customer reviews or Customer profile, I more or less go on a limb, choosing “Give Amazon Feedback” or “Website features”, and, knowing what’s coming, I am very careful to say explicitly, and in capsize: “This request is sent as CUSTOMER, issue with CUSTOMER reviews, associated with email xxxx@xxxx.xxx, NOT AS SELLER“.

I had in my original request, and I thought I had in my reply to their first answer – but I see now that I had omitted to do so, thinking that, as it was a follow-up on previous exchanges, they’d relate it to those. Fatal mistake: NEVER give credit to the intelligence, competence and care of the bottom-tier who manage Amazon’s daily exchanges with you – and then you can only be happily surprised.

Well – I replied back. To think that they’d style themselves “Earth’s most customer-centric company“!!!! And “Donald Trump, most truthful man in the history of mankind“, I suppose…

********************************************

And with all that, I was able to repost my two reviews of Gennadi Rozhdestvensky‘s Honegger (recorded in 1985-86), Symphony No. 2 (with the Suite from Phèdre and three excerpts from the music for Abel Gance’s Napoleon) on Olympia OCD 212 / Melodiya MCD 212 (1988), and Symphonies Nos. 1 & 5 on Melodiya MCD 154 (1990) (I have found no trace of an Olympia counterpart for the latter). VERY idiosyncratic readings, marked by VERY slow tempos, but any sense of sluggishness is offset by the extraordinary bite of the Soviet players, abetted by the stupendous Melodiya sonics, which place you in the middle of the orchestra (and, in symphonies 1 & 5, nearer to the back and brass). For that reason, certainly not first choices, but certainly CDs that belong to the collection of the serious Honeggerite.

13 February 2018

Transferred from Amazon my reviews of two essential Honegger CDs, Neeme Järvi’s Symphonies Nos. 3 & 5 + Pacific 231 on Chandos 9176 (1993) and Mariss Jansons’ Symphonies Nos. 2 & 3 + Pacific 231 on EMI (1994). Both are among the best Liturgiques (others being those of Baudo, Mravinsky, and Karajan, with Plasson and Fournet also excellent versions), both following the furious model of Baudo and Mravinsky rather than the more expansive and grandiose one of Karajan. Jansons’ is even the fastest Finale ever recorded, and there’s a serendipitous irony that, in the very same month (December 1993), Jean Fournet would have recorded the slowest one ever! Jansons’ Second Symphony is excellent, though not quite on a par with the very best ones (all those of Munch belong there, with Baudo’s and Karajan’s). But I would venture to say, however reluctant I am to make such pronouncements, that Järvi’s 5th is the best ever – and, yes, I’ve heard almost all of them. Both Pacifics are excellent also, Järvi’s a touch better even than Jansons’ because of his great sonics – but none are quite equal to Bernstein’s.

Going to My Profile on Amazon because I was trying to locate my review of Denzler’s Liturgique on LP. The entry itself for the LP has been suppressed, but last time I looked (which was a long time ago), the review was still among my list of reviews, living some ghostly existence somewhere in the Amazon “system”.

But there, very bad surprise: all my reviews between April 29, 2009 and August 18, 2016 – gone. The reviews just jump from the one posted on April 29, 2009 and the one posted more than seven years later:

What a fright! (more a surge of grim rage, rather). That would be more than 1,000 reviews – gone. Sure, I keep copies on my computer – not always the final version, though, rather the final draft, which I then always marginally modify when I post the review. But it’s really the fact that I don’t keep track of what I posted in which chronological order.

But, after the first moment of startlement, I think it must be a glitch with the Profile. The reviews are still online, on their respective product pages, since I’m transferring all those Honegger reviews from 2013 and am finding them directly on the CDs’ entries, not going through My Profile. Well, I wrote to report the glitch (hoping it is indeed a glitch) and asking for a fix.

But it reminds me (if ever I had forgotten) that Amazon cannot be trusted for a second, and that I need to transfer these 2,500 reviews before they really delete them all.